Windows Vista Beta | WinVistaBeta.com - Message | Domains being blocked by Messenger

July 04, 2008  
Subject: Domains being blocked by Messenger
Group: microsoft.public.windows.live.messenger
Date: 4/28/2008 6:46:00 PM
From: =?Utf-8?B?RGVuaXMgV29uZw==?= [Email Address Protection]

Messenger seems to be blocking a few domains that aren't unsafe. For
instance, www.mediafire.com and www.teamviewer.com. Both are blocked by
Messenger. Can someone please review the list of blocks and take them off?

Back
Subject: Re: Domains being blocked by Messenger
Group: microsoft.public.windows.live.messenger
Date: 4/29/2008 8:25:19 AM
From: VanguardLH [Email Address Protection]

Denis Wong wrote:

> Messenger seems to be blocking a few domains that aren't unsafe. For
> instance, www.mediafire.com and www.teamviewer.com. Both are blocked by
> Messenger. Can someone please review the list of blocks and take them off?

Well, you got me curious. Where in Windows Live Messenger can you
configured any blocking of domains? Or where in Windows Live messenger
do you configure it for "safe" sites?

Back
Subject: Re: Domains being blocked by Messenger
Group: microsoft.public.windows.live.messenger
Date: 4/29/2008 1:55:56 PM
From: bigbytetech@gmail.com

On Apr 28, 9:46 pm, Denis Wong <DenisW...@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:
> Messenger seems to be blocking a few domains that aren't unsafe. For
> instance,www.mediafire.comandwww.teamviewer.com. Both areblockedby
> Messenger. Can someone please review the list of blocks and take them off?

HI, It is confirmed that Messenger is blocking certain domains. I
tried to send a link http://www.teamviewer.com to my friend several
times and it was blocked each time. I find this a little strange.
Anyone know how to remove this. Been using Messenger for many years
now and I find this odd.

Back
Subject: Re: Domains being blocked by Messenger
Group: microsoft.public.windows.live.messenger
Date: 4/29/2008 7:46:51 PM
From: "Jonathan Kay [MVP]" [Email Address Protection]

Hi,

This has been going on for years. Although in the past the messages were simply dropped and
you weren't notified that they weren't sent.

The purpose of the list (which is downloaded from the Messenger server when you sign in and
is uncustomizable) is to prevent worms from propagating. You remove the link from being
sent, you remove the worm from spreading.

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


<bigbytetech@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:20500aaf-00d8-440f-9ac9-bec819b0f1d1@c58g2000hsc.googlegroups.com...
> On Apr 28, 9:46 pm, Denis Wong <DenisW...@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>> Messenger seems to be blocking a few domains that aren't unsafe. For
>> instance,www.mediafire.comandwww.teamviewer.com. Both areblockedby
>> Messenger. Can someone please review the list of blocks and take them off?
>
> HI, It is confirmed that Messenger is blocking certain domains. I
> tried to send a link http://www.teamviewer.com to my friend several
> times and it was blocked each time. I find this a little strange.
> Anyone know how to remove this. Been using Messenger for many years
> now and I find this odd.



Back
Subject: Re: Domains being blocked by Messenger
Group: microsoft.public.windows.live.messenger
Date: 5/1/2008 1:57:24 AM
From: "Cyberhash" [Email Address Protection]

This actually saves more trouble than the little annoyance it causes in most
cases.

They are doing you a big favour by blocking links to sites that are known
for hosting dubious code, but i must say that blocking places like mediafire
and rapidshare are not really a good decision.

All these free file hosting sites now use a capcha system, that in itself
will stop drive by downloads.

Even trying to use rapidshare normally is a nightmare with their "guess the
cat" capcha, and i dont think any link that you ever receive is going to be
able to get past this when the human eye has trouble in doing it.

Maybe mediafire/rapidshare and the like also sell webspace and this is
possibly the reason why they on the bad list ?.

The easy solution is to just email your contact the links :), no big hassle
and makes being online a bit safer for most people online.




Back